ToolBox -

January 21st, 2014

Print this article

Add a comment!

This tutorial shows you how to set up Apple Mail to work with your email account.

To Set Up Your Apple Mail

  1. From the Mail menu, select Preferences.
  2. Go to the Accounts tab, and then click the plus sign(+) at the bottom of the Accounts box.
  3. In the Add
    Account window, enter your full name, email address and email password.
  4. Click Continue.
  5. In the Incoming Mail Server screen, select POP or IMAP from the Account Type list, and complete your information as follows:
    1. Description: The name of your account.
    2. Incoming
      mail
      server
      1. POP: mail.yourdomainname.tld
      2. IMAP mail.yourdomainname.tld

        Note: tld means top level domain for example .com.au, .com, .net, etc…

    3. User
      Name: Your email address.
    4. Password: Your email account password.
  6. Click Continue.
  7. In the Outgoing Mail Server screen complete your information as follows:
    1. Description: The name for this mail server (e.g. secureserver.net).
    2. Outgoing mail server: mail.yourdomainname.tld
  8. Check the Use only this server box.
  9. Check the Use Authentication box, and then enter your User Name and Email Address.
  10. Click Continue.
  11. When the setup process is done, you will see an Account Summary window that summarizes your connections.
  12. Click the Create button.

Leaving a Copy of Messages on the Server:

By default, when you download new messages using Mac Mail, your messages will remain on the hosted server for one week. After one week, they will be deleted from the server. This helps you to avoid exceeding your account’s storage limits. Follow the directions below to make changes to the default settings.

  1. Select Mail / Preferences and click once on your account, as it appears in the Accounts list.
  2. Click the Advanced tab and select the Remove copy from the server after retrieving a message check box, if desired.
  3. If you selected the check box, click the drop-down menu to indicate when Mac Mail should remove your mail from the server. Or you can indicate that Mac Mail should remove your mail from the server when you move it from the Inbox into another folder.
  4. Close the Accounts window and click the Save button.